Sensor Allergy

I’m new at this but I just got the ipro and have an awful rash just where the sensor sets on my skin. Is this normal??

If you are using a MM sensor you have a few things that may be helpful.

Put the sensor in a place that has a minimal amount of skin and tissue movement. The stomach is bad if you twist and sit a lot. The pack and side of the arm has been found to be one if the best locations.

Another trick that I have had success with is putting a piece of waterproof foam tape over the sensor plastic to better secure the sensor so it will remain where you put it in.

Hypaflex is a great over the sensor adhesive patch. It comes in rolls and sheets and really secures the sensor so there is no movement in and out of the skin, which causes most localized irritation at the sensor site.

Thank you so much, I'll try and see what happens.

I had this problem for awhile too, developing a itchy rash, but for some reason it has not been an issue for me.

I did a few things...put a piece of gauze under the sensor, between the sensor and my skin, and at times I put on a piece of the IV prep (tegaderm stuff that I used to keep the sensor adhered) and inserted though it. Both methods helped. I did change the gauze at least daily when I did it that way.

As I mentioned, I no longer have this problem. It was mostly an issue for me when it was hot and I was pregnant.

My daughter gets rash under the adhesive on her infusion site. We discussed it with the endo just yesterday and received these suggestions. All of them put a barrier on your skin so that the adhesive that's bothering you is on top of the barrier not on top of your skin.

1) Use a product called Certain Dry, which you buy at the drug store probably in the deoderant area. After bathing, apply the Certain Dry in the place you want to put on your site. Wait 12 hours. Put the site on. (Sounds inconvenient to me, but there you go.)