Sensor worn too long?

I’ve been using the Dexcom 7 system for a little over two years. When I first started I had insurance coverage. However now that I am on Medicare I must pay for the sensors and system myself. So … as a result I try to get as many days as possible from each sensor. Usually I mange between 10 - 14 days with no problems before needing to remove the sensor.

However…last night I woke during the night with horrible pain in my leg where the sensor was inserted. I tried to ignore said pain until morning when I thought it might go away. Come morning it had not gone away so regretfully I removed it and inserted a new one. I had 19 days with the sensor I removed. Has anyone else had problems with wearing the sensor too long? I know the FDA approved the sensor for 7 days only but the FDA isn’t paying for my sensors, I am.

…how do you keep it from peeling off? the adhesive system peels off too soon in my case.

yes, i try to wear my sensor as long as the reading are good…on avg…10-14 days…never get any pain, and because all that is inside your body is this small piece of electrode, it should not cause any problems being inside you…i have never had any pain from wearing the sensor at all

I had trouble when I wore my sensor on my stomach - soreness and the adhesive letting go. Since I’ve moved to my outer upper arm, I haven’t had a problem with soreness or adhesive. Maybe once or twice the site was itchy after I had been wearing the sensor for 2 weeks… but not the pain I had with my stomach. I’m running 2 weeks max with mine though.

I use very narrow pieces of hypo allergenic tape over the adhesive part of the system. It does tend to peel off too soon for me also.

This is the first time I’ve had pain from the sensor electrode also. With the Sure-T infusion set I wear, I have to change it every 2 days or else it begins to itch like crazy.

the only problem i have had is with itching, but i rarely get more than 10-14 days from my sensors.