Sites changes and highs

Hello all. Thought I would post this again after a few years. I"m perplexed when I do site changes I usually get to look forward to a half of day of real high blood sugars. Sometime I give myself extra insulin but I believe all areas of my body respond differently. I’m at the point where I need to try to give an extra unit or two just to get started. My insulin requirements are about 25u a day. Anybody else have some strategies they employ?

2 Likes

I have the same problem. About 3 out of 4 changes my blood sugar runs high. Most times I just bolus until it comes within range. Other times I will inject 3-5 units of Humalog. I rotate sites, but I have been pumping for 20 years so I assume it is scar tissue.

1 Like

Right. So do you give yourself the extra insulin after insertion or just gradually during the day? I feel like part of the problem with diabetes is just finding good absorption as technology does not seem to address this is of diabetes management.

No, since it doesn’t happen every time I have to wait and see.
Every once in awhile it doesn’t happen until 6-8 hours, which I don’t understand.

1 Like

Similar problem here. Different parts of my stomach are different. When it goes real high after a set change it usually my fault on the inseration.

I learned exactly one thing from my pump trainer: That new sites need to be flooded with insulin before they start to absorb properly. She told me to fill my canula with 0.7u of insulin, despite my cannula length only requiring 0.3u.

I’ve long since switched to a full 2 units. I use the “fill cannula” option on my pump so it doesn’t register as IOB. On my t:slim X2, this means doing the max 1 unit, twice.

Also, keep in mind that if you don’t change your site until the last one is toast and your BG is already starting to rise because the site isn’t absorbing insulin anymore, the lack of basal received will affect you for 2 or so hours to come.

3 Likes