Sleep Apnea Diagnosis; So many questions!

I have just completed an at-home oxygen saturation test that showed I have severe hypoxia at night. Doctor said I spent 117 minutes below 90% and 13 minutes at 60%. I have been type 1 diabetic since I was three (32 now) and I have anxiety and depression and weight gain, as well as a newfound need for more insulin than usual. I am terrified at what I’m learning about obstructive sleep apnea and type 1 diabetes. I am angry that I’ve likely had this for years. I’ve been told by past boyfriends and family members that I snore and stop breathing, but never took it seriously until now. I have been gaining weight for the past 5 years, and almost always wake up feeling terrible. I’ve been to therapy and take medications for anxiety, which doctor said could be caused by my apnea. He believes I may have obstructive sleep apnea due to enlarged tonsils, and is suggesting a tonsillectomy (they are very big!) I’m hoping that when I am fully oxygenated at night, that some of my symptoms will clear up. Perhaps I’ll look and feel better, need less insulin and can lose wight (I’m currently 50 lbs. overweight and come from a very thin family). I’m just overwhelmed with the idea that I’m suffocating while sleeping. It explains so much about my life. About how hard every day is and how much I’ve overcome to be where I am. I’m scared to sleep and am sleeping on the couch until I can figure this all out. I’ll have another few tests next week and hopefully get a concrete diagnosis. Until then, I’m anxious and obsessing over how my life may be about to change. I think I need to talk to others who’ve experienced this. Please tell me your stories. Thanks so much.

My advice to you is to begin using a C-PAP device ASAP!