Some general consensus on life as a type 1

I know that most of you post lots and lots about your experiences and you hear “I’m new to this” a lot, but as a 22 (almost 23) year old I want to know…
-if you couldn’t get a job you wanted
-if you were able to get health insurance (I’m a student)
-if pregnancy changed your health permanently
-if sex became uncomfortable/embarassing with pump
While I know that I will have more questions later, this is where I’m at now…thanks for taking the time to give me your input

Hi Victoria,

No worries. They are good questions.

I’ve never had any trouble with jobs. I don’t generally announce that I have diabetes when applying (and no one asks). Generally, it’s something that comes up once I’m already working there. Like, I’ll get a low blood sugar or need to push some buttons on my pump or CGM and I’ll mention it. It’s never really been an issue. All I ever hear is “Oh, I didn’t realize you had diabetes.” And I say “Yep. Type 1. Since I was 11.” and they say “Oh ok.” And that’s usually the end of it. Maybe a question or 2 about my insulin pump and whether I take shots or not, but that’s all I’ve ever heard.

Health insurance is not a problem at all if you are on a big group plan (like at a university or at a big company with a group plan) since those organizations don’t ask about pre-existing conditions. However, it’s a HUGE expense to buy an individual plan. Also, if you have any lapse in your coverage, then new plans are likely to make you wait a year before covering pre-existing conditions. So my advice for health insurance is to get covered (or stay covered) under your parents’ plan or your school’s plan as quickly as possible and then get a job with a company that has a group insurance plan as soon as you graduate so that you don’t have any lapse in coverage. There are some ways around this, but I think that’s generally the cheapest/easiest way to do the health insurance thing.