Starting with Saline

Hi all,

Brand newbie here. Been T1 for 18 years and finally decided to make the switch to a pump. I chose the Animas Ping after researching all of my options. I am very excited to get started!

I have my first training session next Tuesday and my CDE will have me start on saline for a week so I can get to know the basics and see how things go.
Is this a normal part of the transition to a pump? How many here had a trial period on saline and if you did, do you think it was worth it? One reason I ask is because of the cost of supplies, as I really am not that excited to burn through a week's worth of carts and infusion sets for saline use. I'll do it, of course, but am curious how common this practice is.
Thanks for any input, and any advice is greatly appreciated :)

Welcome to the Ping! I skipped the saline step and lived to tell about it, but I know others who did the saline step first. It is fairly common.

It depends on how experienced you are with carb counting, understand how many grams of carbs need how many units of Insulin Carb Factor) and your insulin sensitivity Factor (ISF) which relates to how many bg points 1.00 units of insulin will lower your bg. Of course, that trial and error research will be done when you have insulin in the pump. I guess using saline would "tell" the pump how many units you took - so you could fine tune your I:C and ISF.
Anyway, one of the things that will be brand new (most likely) is the IOB or Insulin On Board feature. Based on how long a carb or correction dose of insulin is active, when it is time to do another bolus, the pump will adjust for the amount of insulin on board. This really cool - it does this very important math. It helps avoid "insulin stacking"