Still have Lantus Questions

I'm relatively new to using Lantus, probably only 4 - 6 months. But do't get a lot of information from medical people, and can't afford appts with them anyway as often as questions come up. So I'll ask here. When I was NOT on lantus, I was using humalog before meals when BS was over 150.....not very often, on Janument 500's twice a day otherwise. Okay, so since on Lantus, starting at 14 units, and moving up the scale to 27 now. My number have come down to normal (between 90 and 130 ---- and FBS in the 95 - 115 range.) I've lost 100 lbs in two years, and exercise daily for an hour. So it's funny/strange, but when my numbers went to the normal range, I rather freaked out a little. OK with it now : ).....but when my bedtime number is 97 a couple of days ago, my brain went to 1) if it's that low now, and I take lantus, it will go lower in the night 2) So should I NOT take it and not worry about lows during the night or stay on track? I won't tell you what I did....but would like to know what other Lantus users do...or your ideas on this? Thanks so much!

If I was concerned that my Lantus dose would make me low overnight, I would either:
a. Take a reduced dose, or
b. Take the reglar dose but set an alarm to check my blood sugar in the night.
Much more likely a.

I would never ever skip it.

I'm a type 1 diabetic who took Lantus for 7 years, and for 5 of those years I took it at bedtime. I missed three doses in those years.

Your numbers sound like a big improvement!

When I was on Lantus before going on a pump recently, as a Type 1 diabetic who still makes a little insulin, I adjusted my Lantus so I'd wake up as close to 100 mg/dL as possible. I used to split my Lantus doses morning and evening, but found that I actually got more even coverage by just doing it at night.