Stomach area bleeding with sensor......ugh!

I’ve been on the Medtronic CGMS for a little over 45 days now and everything was going smoothly until this weekend I hit a vessel in my stomach area. I followed the directions and applied pressure for about 5 minutes. The bleeding stopped so I proceeded to attach the transmitter. My readings were way off so the next day I changed out the sensor only to start bleeding alot again. So now I can mentally mark that spot as a no mans zone forever. My next sensor in a different place on my stomach came out after about 4 hours, even with the IV2000 over it! Since I’ve been pumping for many years I wonder if my skin is somewhat pulverized and soft so that the sensor might be more pronce to popping out. Or do they sell longer sensors? I do inject at a 90 angle (I’m guessing)So there goes $70 - although my insurance pays for it I can see where this is going to become a problem where I will run out of sensors. Does anyone else have stomach area bleeding problems? I usually don’t hit a vessell with the pump siloutte set. I’ve read here where Medtronic might replace bad sensors but what about the “I don’t have any control over it” sensors? I welcome your insight.

It’s normal to have a little blood whenever you inject the sensor. It goes pretty deep and there will always be a drop or two. But here’s a new development: my endo is with the Mayo Clinic, and she just told me last week that Minimed asked her to alert her patients to go back to the 45-60-degree angle rather than 60-90 degrees. So that should help it not penetrate so deeply.

Ok…I’ll ease up a little on the angle. I thought my trainer had advised me to go at more of an angle but I bled so much that it was kinda scary and uncomfortable. I wonder if it will also be prone to stay in more secure at less of an angle instead of a 90? I’ll try it and see. Thanks.

Hi Mark,