Swithing from Medtronic cgm to Dexcom

Hello,

I have been with Medtronic/Minimed right from the start, over 25 years ago when I got my first pump. I have been using the cgm since Aug 2009. It has always varied so much for me, not being able to alert me to highs and lows quick enough. Example, system told me I was 168 with 1 down arrow, I felt awful, very confused etc, did a finger stick and meter said I was 36, which was pretty accurate as I was in quite an insulin reaction.

My Dr has suggested I try the Dexcom system. I have received it and am ready to start, but am heistant. It all sounds good, I’m just wishing it could “talk” with my pump like what I am used to now.

Please give me your pro and cons. Do you Love it?
Has anyone else switched from Medtronic to Dexcom?
IS it more accurate?

Thanks!
Jacki

We have VERY little use with both Medtronic and Dexcom BUT I can tell you our experience and hopefully it will help you feel good about moving to the Dexcom. :slight_smile:

My daughter is seven years old. We did a trial with the Medtronic CGM about a month ago and it was pretty much a waste of time in my opinion in that it really didn’t give me any more information about her trends than we already knew and it was a painful, annoying experience for my daughter. I found in our three days of the trial that the device was very unpredictable on it’s accuracy and her site was bothersome to her.