T1 for 16 yrs-33 y/o female-on shots/dexcom-pregnant

Hello Everyone-

I’m currently 5.5 wks pregnant. On a mission to find a good Endo (haven’t had much luck), currently seeing a high risk OBGYN. The new doctor I met with yesterday (Nurse Practitioner) suggested I start using NPH for my long acting insulin instead of my current dose of Levemir, because according to her, Levemir is not FDA approved and NPH is. I’ve never used NPH before but haven’t heard much good about it. Has anyone ever used it while pregnant? And if so, how did you do on it? Any other recommendations anyone may have as far as what I can use and safe while pregnant? Also, if there is anyone out there living in the Orange County, CA area that knows of a good Endo or know someone who may. I would greatly appreciate any feedback/suggestions.

Thanks for your time,

Monica

Hey SugarDragon - I saw your post on the main page and was going to encourage you to ask here, but you beat me to it!

I used a pump for my pregnancy, so I don't have much to add regarding the use of Levemir. Did you ask about Lanuts? It is more similar to Levemir than NPH. I used NPH when I was diagnosed. It will act completely different from Levemir. It's not "bad", but will have a learning curve.

Good luck with finding answers. Did you High Risk OB have an endo suggestion?

Hi, I use Lantus for my long acting insulin and used it during my pregnancies. I also was pregant with my first when I was 33, and have had type1 for along time and take shots instead of pump, and use dexcom. The insulin was fine and typical in hospital so I used this while in the hospitla during/after labor too (as opposed to my quick acting insuline, apidra, which the hospital did not have so I took 'R’egular while in the hospital). During pregnancy I did have to increase my dosages lots (about 3x) which is typical regardless of type. I’m on east coast so don’t have a cali recommendation for you.
Congrats and good luck.