Test Strips Expiring-Donation?

Hey everyone, I am lucky enough to have an employer with excellent insurance. When I was first diagnosed, before I was able to obtain a Dexcom, I had the doctor write me a script of testing 6 times a day, which I did use completely. Now that I have had the Dexcom I haven't been testing as much. I haven't realized the surplus of test strips I have accumulated (Freestyle Lite). I have a few hundred that are going to be expiring next month, and I just received a new shipment of my next 90 days.

First, how long will these work reasonably well after the expiration date?

Second, is there a place (hospital, clinic, etc.) that I can donate these to legally? I do not want to do anything illegal, just don't want to throw them away.

Lastly, I feel a little "unethical" about not changing my script of 6 times per day when I probably test now 3 to 4 times per day. I am a college football coach, therefore my place of employment will change often (they say there are two types of football coaches, those who have been fired and who will be fired). I am afraid of changing my script because what if somewhere my "new" insurance doesn't pay for the Dexcom? I guess I could always get my endo to change the script again. I just feel like somehow I am doing an injustice to those who aren't as fortunate to have good insurance, but then on the other hand it's not like there is a test strip shortage, so me changing my script isn't helping those in need either. I guess I just don't want to take advantage of the system (although many times we see the system take advantage of the us).

Anyone have any experience with a similar situation?

Insulin for life will be happy to receive your strips.
http://www.ifl-usa.org
interview with them:
http://www.tudiabetes.org/video/tudiabetes-live-interview-with-carol-and-mark-atkinson-insulin