The First Day Of School

The First Day Of School

As a school administrator my two favorite days of the year were the first day teachers returned to school and the day the left for summer break. Today most children in our area return to school or they have been in school for a couple of weeks. When I see the buses running or hear of a teacher talk about returning, I get nostalgic for the first day of school.

Today is the first day of school for my former district, and I miss the wonderful excitement of kids filling the halls, and watching teachers discovering the building improvements we made over the summer. My favorite thing about the first day of school is watching a new teacher, teach their first lesson in their first classroom. I once saw a middle age lady who the principal had high expectations for, get her first classroom. Her dream had been to teach but she was sidetracked by her life into a job she never really wanted. Consequently she left a higher paying job to go to school, get her teacher license and be an elementary school teacher. It was a long journey for her and her family and when she entered her first classroom she broke down with tears of joy. She will never forget that first day of school. Neither will I. The excitement of putting great people in positions where they will excel is an unbelievable experience. I would liken it to attending the opening a new multimillion dollar school that you worked to complete in time to receive students. There is nothing like experiencing that accomplishment.

The real victories however happen with kids. In fact it happens in some odd areas. Seeing a physically challenged child maneuver the front door by themselves the first time is incredible. You just cannot imagine the look on that child’s face when they suddenly appear in the front to check in. You know that child just grew up and they offer all of who happen to be there a glimpse of a big time accomplishment.