Tingling in hands and feet

Hello everyone… I’m new hear and was diagnosed with type 2 in September. I am in excellent health otherwise. Currently I weight 156 lbs and I’m 6 ft tall. I have been running for the last 10 years of my life on a 1hr x 4 times a week schedule, I recently had my heart rate checked and it was 55bpm at resting.

I am not taking any medication for the diabetes but wanted to ask people if they think I should be.

I am checking myself with a Bayer Contour device but I’m not sure about its accuracy. Last week I went for a test and it came back at 7.2mmol but 1/2 hour before the test I tested myself and it was 4.9. Is there usually this much of a discrepancy? I could understand up to half a point but 2.3?

Also I have been getting tingling in my hands and sometimes in my feet. Should I be worried about this?

Thanks in advance for your input… Paul

Sorry for all the questions… Also what are peoples thoughts about cereal? I know they are generally high in carbs, and sugar but I have been eating Honey Nut Cheerios for the last few years and I’m thinking I should probably cut down or eliminate?

Hi Paul and welcome to Tu!! I know Canada uses a different process of measuring blood sugar…I’m not an expert in converting to U.S. measurements. The way you describe your lifestyle it sounds like you’re healthy, although having Diabetes you can still live a healthy lifestyle as you have been.