Tips for the profesional with diabetes

I am a software engineer and type one diabetic. does anyone have tips on how to keep woring through the highs and lows and how to remember everything while involved in work? Any other random useful tips?

While at work, I tend to eat lower carb and make an extra effort to pre-bolus and calculate the bolus correctly.

Using a cgm really helps me because I can avoid severe lows by having carbs preemptively when I have a downward trend.

Do you have access to a cgm?

3 Likes

I agree with @katers87. I eat lower carb and wear a CGM - helps a lot to work through a day without diabetes getting in my way any more than a poor choice of lunch menu might get in someone else’s way…

3 Likes

I tend to eat a large familiar breakfast and then have nothing more than a snack in the afternoon. When I ate larger lunches, I often found myself going low.

If you can build the flexibility into your workday so that you can take a 40 minute or even an hour walk when you really need one and then make up the time later it’s a big help. For me the choice of work setting is a crucial factor.

You also have to be honest with yourself about how much you can do. We all like to think/say that diabetes doesn’t limit us but just maybe that’s not 100% true. I for one had to reduce the size of my accounting practice when I was first diagnosed to make sure that the clients I kept were getting good service.

Maurie

1 Like

The greatest danger to career and reputation is having a severe hypoglycemic period in public while working. I have had the experience of people thinking I was drunk, on drugs, dying, going insane, etc. Some people scream, others call the police, and many assume you must be an epileptic, so they start forcing things into your mouth to stop you from biting your tongue. Trying living down the show you put on during a severe low when you return to your workplace!