?

I have had diabetes for 8 years. I am currently in my 3rd year of college. Recently i have been feeling really down about my self, more than usual. I dont inderstand y i just cant get over the fact i have this stupid, inconvenient disease and just live my life. i feel this has set me back socially. As i get older and meet new people i feel more and more self conscience about my self. I just dont know what to do…

Because diabetes is a part of how you have to live your life- it’s there in the highs and the lows and the missed sleep and the considerations in everything you might want to do.
I suggest meeting other diabetics at your college.

Caryn, I felt like you feel now. I was the only one I knew with diabetes in college. I’d had it since age 10. I had always been okay till then. But I got down about it during that time. You have SO many other stresses. What you need is to be able to focus on those tasks and priorities without your sugars going whacko, and yet, the extra stress and the hours you keep just seem to make it all worse, right?

Here are my suggestions, from someone who was there pretty recently (college class of 2002).

1. Do find other diabetics to talk to. Your friends will listen, but your diabetic friends will get it.
  2. See if your campus health center offers free counseling. It’ll be the last time in your life you can get therapy for free!
  3. I started a campus support group. It was mostly faculty and staff who came to an introductory meeting and never came back, but after a while, I was perfectly okay that it was just the sorority girl with the pump, me (the sophomore on syringes at the time), and the young guy with type 2. It was enough just for us to know someone else was out there.