Transitioning to Medicare?

So I’m new to Medicare (I’m in my 30s, but disabled). I’ve seen something about a “see an Endo every 3 months” requirement for Medicare…but does that mean I’ve had to see an Endo 3 months prior to starting Medicare to be able to continue my pump supplies/insulin? Or just within 3 months of STARTING Medicare?

I start Medicare September 1 and my next appointment is October 7th. I haven’t seen my Endo since last year because I didn’t have insurance and then COVID happened.

I can’t ask Medicare directly because my plan hasn’t started yet, so I’m not sure where to get more information.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi there! I don’t have an answer, but just wanted to express solidarity. I’m trying to navigate the “not yet 67 but getting on Medicare due to disability” track myself. It is utterly baffling, and I understand why most people hire a lawyer to help with SSDI/Medicare/etc. I have a “compassionate allowance” disease, so I don’t have to “fight” the Social Security office, but it is still absolutely impossible to find answers to any reasonable question.

Also, welcome to TUD! It’s a great community, and I’ve found it to be wonderfully supportive and knowledgeable.

3 Likes

Yeah, it was definitely a wild ride. I was approved first time (severe Lupus), but the amount of stress it caused was absolutely ridiculous. Sorry you’re in the same boat!

2 Likes

I’m not on medicare, but have seen discussions mentioning this rule. It seems related to having notes provided in order to get supplies, and need to be faxed to supplier/pharmacy by doctor.

2 Likes

If you are on a pump, medicare requires doctor notes every 90 days (not 3 months). If you are MDI (Multiple Daily Injection) medicare needs doctor notes every 180 days (Not 6 months). So for your initial supplies, due to various possible processing delays of your first order, start the process as soon as you have seen endo to make sure that is taken care of 90/180 days ahead of deadline