Uncomfortable?

Hello!

I am thinking of going on the dexcom… How does it feel when you insert it? Where are the acceptable sites? Any suggestions? I once tried the minimed sensor and I hated it… Any advice will help. Thank you!,

I pulled the minimed sensor out within 24 hours...it was uncomfortable, insertion a drag, etc.

The Dex is much better. Dont even know its on. Insertion takes a little getting used to, then easy and no pain. It is great when it is on targetb and frustrating when it goes through its un reliable times.

I suggest a week trial with it and see for yourself. Gives much knowledge which i feel over rides the down sides.

Thank you!

I am new to this too, have had it 4 weeks. I agree with Lisa c. I have found my abdomen about one to two inches to the right on my bellybutton have given me the best readings (I have adequate belly fat and I found a website showing acupressure points that showed a line in this area down the mid-right of the body and I thought it was worth trying). My left abdomen and back of right arm did not give good readings. I may try my right upper thigh on my next sensor. I have learned a lot from reading older posts, good luck!

There are many pages here that offer good advice, so you can look them over and sort by topic. That is how I got most of my information.

I have used both the Minimed and Dexcom CGM's. I found the Dexcom to be much more accurate, but some Minimed users say their accuracy is very good too. I seem to recall the Dexcom manual indicating that the abdomen is the best place for a sensor, but some users have used the fatty parts of their legs. Some people have been trained to use a CGM. I had to learn from scratch by myself and found this group very useful.

I think the insertion is a lot like all of the other needles we jab ourselves with. Most don't hurt much, but every once in a while you get one that really hurts.