Vanity - Swimsuits and Your Pump

Hi there!
I’m going to ask a couple of questions from you all that are admitedly purely vain.

I’ve been pumping for 9 months now, and have gotten pretty used to having both my CGM and my infusion set (all Medtronic) on my stomach - one on each side. However, I’m getting ready to go on vacation to the beach, where I’ll be outside most of every day wearing my swimsuit. This will really be my first time around the pool/ocean since I started wearing the pump.

My pump is not something that I’m ashamed of, but there are times when I just don’t want to draw attention to it, like wearing my CGM & set on my belly while I am only wearing a swimsuit. I haven’t tried connecting either to my legs or thighs, as I just don’t have a lot of body fat on my legs, and I’m concerned about how both would feel in a muscular region.

Here are my questions:

• Do you use alternate locations only while wearing a swimsuit? If so, where? (I’m especially looking for guys’ responses on this)
  • Do you use some type of waterproofing for going in the pool or ocean, or do you just take the pump off during that time?
  • Do you keep an ice chest or something similar nearby to keep your pump & insulin cool while outside?

I know that there is some opportunity for educating others about pumps here, but I really just want to vacation without having to do so.

Thoughts? Thanks!

I use a Medtronic pump with MIO infusion sets. If you look in the box there's a little plastic packet with what looks like a detached clip for attaching the set to the reservoir tube. Took me a while to realize it's basically a plug you can insert when you go swimming. I suppose you could use it for showering as well, but I don't bother with it just for that. So you could solve your "vanity" problem that way, at least while you're uncovered or actually in the water.