Vegetarians

I was wondering how a vegetarian would keep the carbs low enough. When giving up the protein, I find myself trying to counter with bread, pasta, rice, etc. What kind of advice does anyone have.

hi, Robert, we have many vegetarians and vegans here. Jill is one that I know here.

Hi Robert

I can so much relate to your struggle. For a year when I was on oral meds I said “I eat healthy, I don’t have to change anything”. Now I am on insulin and I realized how high carb I have been eating as a vegetarian. I also love to cook and love a wide variety of ethnic foods so I have had to really scramble to find things I like, but I’m getting there! I don’t have any one answer or formula and I’m still learning things but some of my findings are: Breakfast is easy, I stick with eggs, omelettes, etc. I have had to give up my much loved fruit, yogurt and granola as well as any cereals ( so far, I will be trying low carb options when I get back to the states). I’ve always eaten light for lunch, so I eat things like cheese and crackers or fruit and cheese or salad with a small amount of croutons or breaksticks. I’ve learned that as a vegetarian it’s sometimes easy to go TOO light on carbs like salads or vegie stir frys!