What would have been helpful to know before switching to Tandem Control IQ?

I have been using the Tandem Tslim original pump for the past five years. I also use Dexcom G6 with the receiver and my smart phone. I have read quite a few posts on this board and other forums that mention different problems people had when switching to the Control IQ. I am wondering what you wish someone had told you prior to your switching to Control IQ?

When I switched from Medtronic Revel 723 I went from a duration of 4 hours to 3-1/2 hrs on Tandem Tslim. Now it will be another switch from my present setting of 3-1/2 hrs to 5 hrs. Sounds frustrating.

Unfortunately, there aren’t a lot of users who have been with Tandem through that first gen and upgraded to the X2, with or without Control-IQ. Hopefully you get some more seasoned answers. They just didn’t have a lot of support from the (Medtronic indoctrinated) medical community in the early days. Also, while I’m a BIG Tandem promoter, first gen products never hit the nail on the head and they had to grow based on user feedback. Overall, if you liked the original t:slim, I think you will LOVE the X2. You should notice fewer annoyances and more intuitive interaction. If you haven’t tried it out yet, I would definitely recommend downloading the t:simulator app from either the play store or apple store so you can familiarize yourself with the changes.

I don’t know a lot about the differences between models, but I think they’re largely just in the user interface, other than the obvious Dexcom integration and subsequent automation.

I’m pretty sure the fill process will be different for you, not a lot, but enough that you should watch the training videos carefully. Like, I think the having to remove the air from the cartridges yourself step will be new to you. Also, you’ll find a lot of the words in the confirmation screens to be replaced with “:x:” and “✓”.