50 years Diabetes Anniversary

Received my 50 year medal today from Lilly. Gee, the things I remember about being diagnosed:
My BG was like 700 something but I didn’t feel sick at all. I spent 7 days in the hospital, was bored so they sent me to an actual weaving class in occupational therapy. I missed my home and my dog.
Mom promised if I was well behaved ( I hid in the back seat of her car because I was so afraid of the hospital) and went to the hospital I would be allowed to take dance classes when I got out. We had just moved to a new house and a nice dance school was just one street over. I spent 25 years in dance. I guess that means I was a good patient…or something.

I got a degree in dance and theater, but the dance department really labeled diabetics as weak and I’m pretty sure that has been challenged and cleared up by now. I came home from college with a BFA and my future husband. He is dealing with cancer right now, so his support all these 50 years, is now a bit reversed. Still keepin’ on, by God’s grace.

10 Likes

Congratulations on your 50th year anniversary!!! Dance probably helped keep you healthier too! I am sorry to hear about your husband. Hugs and best wishes for a speedy and well recovery.

1 Like

Congrats on fighting the good fight for 50 years! I know it’s not easy and there are many bumps along the way. I think your passion for dance provided you with important physical and emotional sustenance over these years. I wish you and your husband the best as you deal with his cancer.

2 Likes

No Way!!! Will you post a picture of the medal? I’ve never seen one. I wanna see. What are you gonna do with it? Are you gonna wear it around? You should wear it to the grocery store. Tell people you won it for being a world champion diabetic.

Thinking of your husband. Hoping he feels ok.

2 Likes

Boy I ate really really bad dorm food but I walked everywhere at college so I guess that helped!

2 Likes

Thank you so much