Any type 1 still taking symlin?

Are any type !'s still taking symlin?

Yes, I started last August and am still learning how to use it effectively. I was able to lower my A1c from >8 to <8 with my curent dose of 45. I am still struggling in how to dual wave bolus with the Symlin for my protein and fat meals. I tried taking my insulin after I had eaten but I would forget 20-30% of the time so now I am taking Symlin 15 minutes before meal and insulin at start of meal (dual wave) when I have a better chance of remembering to dose. I started to take Symlin only to decrease post meal highs not for any weight loss benefit which hasn’t occurred to any significant amount. I don’t mind the extra shot (i use a pump and CGM).

Have a great day!

I am glad to hear your reply… It does take a while to get the dosing correct. I have been using symlin since 2011 and I like it but others seem not to be using it. It is seldom even mentioned at meetings anymore. I usally take the symlin when I start the food… I also only take half of the insulin that carbs would suggest. For me the action of the symlin makes the BG go low about 1 1/2 hours after eating. I have the time set on my pump so I give more insulin then. I also have the CGM which makes it easier to follow all this. I now take the 120 mcg with each meal.