April DF Magazine: Carb Counting

So the April issue of Diabetes Forecast is out.

They interviewed “real diabetics” for tips on carb counting.

I happened to be one of those interviewed:

The goal was to “help new diabetics deal with the whole carb counting thing.”

I was wondering what you all thought - did we manage to help?

http://forecast.diabetes.org/magazine/features/back-basics-carb-counting-tips

Thanks,
drew

Congratulations on being included in the magazine, and for offering great suggestions.

I don’t want to be too critical, but if I was a newbie and read that I would be overwhelmed and confused by all the different opinions and ideas. I would have preferred a simple article giving the basics of carb counting with maybe just a few pictures and the little personal tips interspersed to make it personal.

We have another member that was also in the article - I will let them decide if they want to come forward with their real name!

Some of the tips were good, but the first one was “accept your situation.” What does that have to do with carb counting? You can be the perfect little diabetic and weigh everything that goes into your mouth, but that doesn’t mean that you have to accept your situation. I agree that accepting your situation is important - you can’t change it but it has nothing to do with carb counting.

I fogot to add, congratulations for being in the article!

Those are great points. I think the points about eating out are all so true. The difference in accuracy in carb counting is huge, even if I can look up the nutrition information at a restaurant.

ps. Does this mean that drewgolden is back and will be doing more human experiments?

I thought it was excellent. And good idea making “accept your situation” #1. Those who are in any kind of denial will be MUCH less likely to watch what they eat, or maybe even count carbs at all. Good job!

I agree with Zoe that the article (in which I participated as well…) is quite a mouthful!!