How do you count carbs?

Hi all,

I’m a writer with Diabetes Forecast magazine and I’m working on a story about carb counting. I’d like to feature five people, a mix of those with type 1 and type 2. I’m interested in interviewing each of the people this week or next to find out your tips for counting carbs.

I’ll be asking questions like: Do you memorize carb counts? Do you just guestimate? If so, how often do you guestimate? Do you have any tips or tricks you could share with our readers?

While I’m not sure if we’ll be photographing each person, I’d like each to be willing to be photographed.

If you’re interested (and especially if you have some great carb counting tips for newbies!) please e-mail me at tneithercott@diabetes.org.

I’m hoping to schedule all interviews this week, and I’ll post a response once I’ve found enough people.

Thanks!
Tracey Neithercott

Not at all interested in a formal interview, but I can share that we use Calorie King, nutritional information on the back of the box or item, weigh all problematic foods on Salter scale (do not find a cup of cereal suggested as a serving on the cereal box matches the gram weight per serving, etc.); weigh all fruit on the Salter. Use carb factors for all baked items I do not have carb counts for. For instance will use carb factors for my own baked ziti as opposed to adding up all the carbs in the item and dividing by serving.

I use calorielab.com and livestrong.com a lot and look up each food if I do not already know the carb counts or if it is something that does not come with a nutrition label. I also look up the nutrition facts for restaurants that I will be going to eat at to look at the carb counts and decide on a meal before going out to eat. It does get easier to eat the same foods often because you already know the carb counts and how they affect your blood glucose.

Hi: