Artificial Sweetners - will they kill you or not?

Read this on MSN http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/19424599/wid/11915773?GT1=10109.

Not sure everyone elses take but I have been ingesting artificial sweetners since 1974---god love Fresca and Tab Cola - my first 2 carbonated drinks...and i got to 'fit in' with all the other kids in the 70's. All of my life i have been told that these sweetners will cause cancer...do you guys worry about this? My children are not diabetic but I almost always by diet soda/pop/cokes for them and dont think twice about it. I always figured that these research studies would feed the rats their body weight in sacchrin and poof they would get cancer.

my mum showed me an article that said that aspartame and isomalt do not cause cancer per se but may have side effects on a very small population. i’ll leave you a link if i can retrieve it :slight_smile:

This is relatively old news but a reason, I think, to not give kids diet soda. Of course, I can easily say this now that my kid isn’t even old enough to beg for soda - ask me again in a few years! :o)
(That said, we don’t drink any soda in my house - I don’t like it - so maybe (i hope!) it won’t be an issue…)

You and I were diagnosed in the same year!
Yes, indeed, I remember Tab and Fresca - they were both advertised as having “one crazy calorie”.
I went through a period, maybe about 15 years ago, where I drank almost 4-5 cans of diet soda a day, every day.
There are dozens of websites that describe aspartame as being a “neurotoxin” but who knows.
I guess moderation is the key. (I now drink one 12 oz bottle of diet pepsi per day, but also have other a/s’d items like yogurt.)

The diet soda’s in the early 70’s were horrible (Tab was probably the least bad IMO), but I drank them nonetheless. Today’s soda’s with aspartame are great.