AUG. 08 UPDATE -VICTORY! Advice on insurance appeal please (teleconferencing in 3 days!)

Hi everyone!

I have been applying for a minimed cgms for many months now. On Jan. 2nd I’ll be having a 15 minute teleconferencing session to plead my case with my Regence Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oregon Appeals Panel. The panel is a physician Medical Director, a Registered Nurse and an Administrative Rep.

Regence has denied my request for a pre-authorization on the grounds of it being ‘investigational’.

Aside from the usual “here are the top 3” reasons why approach (which in my case are: plans for pregnancy, occasional hypo-unawareness and a constantly changing level of stress and activity which tends to make me be out of control…) what other persuasive methods work with these insurance giants??

SO, what has worked for you? Has anyone gone through this process and succeeded? Any recommendations big or small would be helpful. Please hurry with lots of advice!

Thank you all tremendously.

Cheers,
Davis

I have gone through the process and won recently but I did not have to do a phone confernece, I just faxed in a very lengthy appeal letter and a lot of documentation that I have posted on this website.

http://tudiabetes.com/forum/topic/show?id=583967%3ATopic%3A8717

Be sure to make it clear that it is necessary durable medical equipment and that insurance companies cannot deny that.

My letter is at work and I won’t be there until Thursday otherwise I would email it to you. :frowning:

Oooo and check out all the information on this forum there are 4 pages of help here. :slight_smile:

Minimed should have a rep do this with you along with your doc, but I can tell you that with my doc even appealing to BCBS of Georgia they turned me down flat stating that I am “in too good of control” although my A1C is still above 7.0 and my glucose levels are still all over the map.

Good luck with it all. Please let us know how things turn out.

Thanks Karen…