Being a nurse and managing eating

Hi everyone! Just joined here and recently was officially diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic. I am a nurse who works 3-11 and I not only struggle with either always feeling hungry and or not eating enough, My biggest problem is eating stuff that is easy to eat thats healthy but fills me up and or doesnt drop my blood sugar (if i only eat say salad i burn it so quickly my bs drops too much). Lately I have been eating a snack when I get home at midnight even if i have time to eat something say when i am documenting an hr before that. If I dont I lay awake starving even though I ate something not so long ago. I have a few dietary restrictions due to allergies like I dont eat beef, pork or eggs so my protein is limited. I am in need of support especially was wondering if anyone else struggles with these things. Everytime I have reached out on something similar to this I get beaten down by someone that says “youre a nurse you should know better” I cannot control the main reason why I was diagnosed but my eating and weight gain just made it happen sooner so thats what I need to get a grip on all this.It also doesnt help that I am extremely tired all the time and yes I have been tested for sleep apnea and that was negative so I have no energy. Anyone have any suggestions? I have refused meds so far and my AIC is 6.9. It is on the up trend so they want to stop it early but every MD i go to puts me on a med with terrible side effects or I go to a dietician that gives me paperwork and makes me do it all myself…if I could do it myself would I be struggling?? Alot of babbles but I hope to just find people to chat with and maybe get some snack ideas and how to manage hunger. And yes exercise (from a former “athlete” turned overweight lazy girl) scares me and for some reason makes me more exhausted! Thanks everyone and hope everyone is well!