Bernstein's blood sugar targets

Hi,

I am a T2 for 2 years, and pretty much follow Dr B's solution to the letter, but seems there is no way to maintain a constant blood sugar at 83 before, during and after a meal. I tried same thing on my none-diabetic wife and son, they can't maintain 83 after one hour either, even after a low-carb meal.

So my question: how many of you can actually maintain your blood sugar at 83, one hour after a meal ? Is it actually possible? with/without the help of insulin ?

thanks!

Otter

You know, I've been wondering about this too. I am relatively new to Bernstein (and thank God he exists), and am a T2 who is just preparing to start using insulin, so I am very interested in this question also. I look forward keenly to the discussion.

It's a goal that's impossible to achieve. As close as you can get, is great. I've tested my husband when he'll let me & his BG isn't in the 80's after meals. It comes down quickly, but he doesn't maintain a consistent level.

In his May web cast, Dr. B stated that people can get a small deviation if they don't have gastroparesis. So, that means that no one is hitting a completely flat BG line. I'm thrilled to have postprandials of 120 or slightly under.

I've been following Dr. B's guidelines for going on 4 years. Some of it can be done with timing of bolus, for those on insulin. I've tweaked & tweaked timing. The general guideline of bolus 15 minutes before eating isn't helpful for everyone. Another method that helps, again for using insulin, is splitting bolus doses by taking some before meals & another 1-2 hours or more later to prevent a spike from protein.

I use low carb and minimal metformin only and I can keep quie close to that More like 85, but I never go over 115[6.4 to me]. I think the point is that this number is a TARGET. Even the best marksmen miss targets, but they all aim for them.