Best Inset to use with my Tslim

I am very close to giving the go ahead for a new Tslim, but I am totally new to pumping and have a couple of questions. I currently use the I-Port insulin delivery method. Here are my questions:

1. Is the Tslim a good or bad pump?
2. What is the best inset to use to avoid clogs, steel or soft cannula?

Any information about the Tslim would be appreciated.

Thanks

2 Likes

Hi Bob,

I have had the T Slim since it first came out and I love it. My A1C is 6.8....before I was on insulin I was a 10.8.

With regard to the pump, super easy to use and few people even realize you are using one...as a working professional an discrete pump was a must. It is really easy to load, change settings, and do quick bolus. Super straight forward to enter bg and carbs.

I use with a dexcom, which I think is just as important as the pump!

With regard to the inset, steel generally is better for clogs. However, I had a bad site infection for leaving a steel set in while at work even though it was getting sore....developed a baseball size cyst under skin and had major allergic reaction... I have since once done soft cannula, but absorbtion is not near as good and sometimes it kinks or does not insert properly....

Hope that is helpful.

MK