Calling all low vision individuals on insulin pumps

Hello community,

I am a nurse practitioner working with a low vision individual ,who is interested in making things work despite the challenge with an Omnipod device./G6 CGM. He was experienced with Paradym insulin pump but the pump is needing to be replaced. My question is: is it possible to prefill pods? He is able to magnify to view the screen but injection into the pod to fill is somewhat challenging. any help would be appreciated.

Sharon

2 Likes

Hi @Skettina
I appreciate your question.

I wish you could pre-fill pods, but unfortunately this is not possible from a practical standpoint because of the limit they have on it.

Once you fill a pod, you only have 2 hours to activate it. If you don’t activate it within 2 hours, it will no longer work.

So unless 2 hours is enough time, this probably is not a practical solution for him.

3 Likes

thanks for your “practical” response! I am amazed that there aren’t better resources for low vision patients as they are especially in need if tight control that AID’s can assist with. I have been doing some research and am coming up pretty short.

Sharon

3 Likes

Is it possible to fill the pod by “feel”? The pod fill port is always in the same place. The pod is always oriented in it’s package the same way.

When pods are doing an injection, they do an audible “click” for every 0.05 units. It is not very loud, but in a quiet room you can hear it and know how much you got.

I think the big challenge is the touchscreen screen.

Tandem also has a touchscreen, but they also have a quick-bolus button on the side which is a tangible button. So he could bolus using that.

There may be some Loop options that allow you to use audible alerts on your phone. But again, Loop is touchscreen which I think is always going to be the challenge.

Hi Sharon,