Carb counting app

I am new to carb counting. Diagnosed with LADA a year ago. Used Victoza for a year and have just stopped that and started Lantus. Can anyone recommend an app to help with carb counting? I'm finding it overwhelming.

For counting carbs at home I rely on the Calorie King book, as well as package labels, measuring cups and spoons, and a good kitchen scale. For chain restaurants my favorite is the ‘Restaurant Nutrition’ app.

I have never had the stamina for counting and hope to get away without it. It sounds a headache, and I do not intend to diet. Good luck.

The CalorieKing app is very helpful for figuring out carb counts in everything, in lauding restaurant food. For record-keeping, I have an app that’s just labeled “diabetes app”. It’s a bit cumbersome but it does the job. It keeps running totals for me, which is nice.

I use Fat Secret Calorie Counter. It's great!

I am totally an engineer and don't count either. I am pretty consistent in what I eat so I just calculated and found the "sweet spot" dosage for meals. Lantus should be three times your insulin meal dosage so for example if you take 12 units of Humalog, your lantus should be 36 units for the day. That being said, I always take extra and correct if I eat or drink something I shouldn't have by a couple extra units.

I had to look up Lantus. Interesting.

I find bolus insulin better. I always think if you are going to control something, it is good to reduce the grey area, which lasts 24 hours. This is simply because I like cycling and 24 hours of uncertainty might give me a hypo. I live alone, so need to be careful, since I passed out for at least 50 hours in February. Mind you, I am inconsistent with quantity.

I am probably making contact with a carbohydrate-counting dietician fairly soon, when I am clearer whether I can expect any supportfrom the rest of the team.