Cheaper Insulin Pen Needles than BD?

Hello! I am wondering if anyone knows of a cheaper alternative for universal fit insulin pen needles? I am very new to type 1, (was diagnosed in late February of this year), and am still paying out of pocket for my needles. I have been using BD 4 mm and they are pricey! Cheapest I’ve seen is $57 and that adds up. I have been doing some searches and I am seeing very good reviews for “PIP Universal Insulin Pen Needles”. But I reluctant to purchase with so little knowledge of a reliable, cheaper source. If anyone has any ideas, I would be so grateful! Thanks.

At Amazon they start at about $10/box of 100 and if you are careful, you can use a needle for up to about 50 injections so cost per injection is really next to nothing.

2 Likes

Thanks! I was told to throw out my needles after every injection. Are you saying I could make them last longer? That would be AMAZING! I feel like I have wasted so much money on needles.

2 Likes

Yes, there is a lot of pomp and ceremony in the medical field but after a while we each do what we are comfortable with. I have not used an alcohol wipe in over 30 years and yes, I use a BD needle for about 50 injections before it goes bad. You need to try things out and do what works best for you under your circumstances.

On this forum, we can only tell you what works for us, but what works for one person does not necessarily work well for another.

The more you learn, the more you test and act on the result of your tests, the better control you will have over time.

4 Likes

Here is a coupon for a free box of BD pen needles. At least i think it is

https://www.bd.com/resource.aspx?IDX=22805

At $2600 per 100 the cost of pen needles is $0.26 per needle. I have reused pen needles and no I do not use alcohol swabs. As CJ114 said it is all about what you are comfortable doing. For me $0.26 is worth the increased pain of using a dull needle and the small risk of infection.