Cost of insulin pump on private health cover

I’m very new to the topic of type 1 diabetes. I’m on here to learn more and understand how I can better support my brother who was just diagnosed.

Right now I’m concerned about the cost of an insulin pump and I’m wondering if anyone might know the costs of this if one has private health cover.

Welcome to TuDiabetes! I’m sorry that you have to be here and that your brother has T1D, but so impressed that you are seeking more info to support him.

Costs for insulin pumping will vary pretty widely depending on your insurance and with your terminology I’m guessing that you aren’t in the US?

Pump hardware ranges from about $5k - 7k in the US before any coverage kicks in and then you have the reservoirs and infusion sets which are typically an every 90-day expense of about $1K pre-coverage.

My out of pocket for my last pump was $300 and including the deductible, my infusion sets and reservoirs are in the $50 - 300 range.

Let us know where your brother is located and you’ll get better answers.

You will have to call the pump company sales department and have them get back to you with a price after they process a request thru your insurance. Asking others about pricing is fruitless.

I would look into a CGM - either the Dexcom, or the Freestyle Libre, depending on cost and what your insurance will cover, before bothering with a pump. A pump can be a valuable tool for some, but a CGM will make a huge difference right away and is extremely valuable whether using a pump or injections. In fact, studies are showing that people can achieve the same level of control using a CGM, with or without a pump.

3 Likes

Your brother needs to have a history of treatment and blood glucose control before considering a pump. If after six months or so, his treatment has maintained good control of his blood glucose, a pump would be considered inappropriate.