Dexcom CGM needs better rate-of-change visual display

Continuing the discussion from Dexcom Users Direction Arrows:

A recent discussion about the meaning and use of the Dexcom arrows versus the dots suggests that this visual indicator could be improved.

I used to work as a technician in an avionics shop for a major commercial airline. Many of the instruments and cockpit displays integrated a long history of aviation evolution. Many changes to features in cockpit displays were informed by actual airplane crashes! The displays built in the whole field of ergonomics because at 30,000 feet high, life literally hangs in the balance.

The various instruments and displays must communicate a strong visual presentation dense with vital information. They pilot cannot visually fixate on one display at the expense of focusing on myriad other systems and what appears outside his/her cockpit window. Situational awareness suffers too much complexity and confusion.

Why re-invent the wheel?

Therefore the various instruments and displays that my shop serviced were well honed devices that benefitted from decades of use. Their visual presentation was concise, clear, intuitive, and right to the point.

One of the instruments that my shop serviced was the Vertical Speed Indicator or VSI. This analog indicator consisted of a pointer mounted on a round display that deflected up or down to immediately indicate whether the aircraft was gaining, losing, or maintaining altitude.

A flight level indication was a pointer holding steady at the 9:00 oā€™clock or pointing left condition. If the pointer moved clockwise, or up, it meant the aircraft was climbing. If the pointer moved counter-clockwise or down it meant the aircraft was descending. One quick look and the pilot could immediately learn this important flight info.

Hereā€™s a visual of what this instrument looks like:

Itā€™s calibrated in 100ā€™s of feet per minute. Intuitive, simple, and fast to read.