Dexcom trend arrows

Hello! I have been using the Dexcom G6 for about 6 months or so. It has been working well for the most part, but I have an observation/question about the trend arrows.

I have noticed a few times over these 6 months, and a few times with this most recent sensor, that the trend arrows are wonky (for lack of a better term).

For example, this morning, a couple hours after breakfast, my number was 122 with a diagonal arrow up. I thought to myself that I should keep an eye on that because I may need to give a correction bolus. However, as I was looking, the number updated to 115 with a steady arrow. I checked with my meter, and that said 118. It appears as if the number is accurate but the trend arrows are completely off.

Isnā€™t the trends the whole point of a cgm? Any thoughts? Thanks.

2 Likes

A change of only 4 mg/dl in 5 minutes is considered steady. Itā€™s a very small change. It doesnā€™t show a diagonal until the change is MORE than 5 mg/dl in those 5 minutes between readings.

At least itā€™s ā€œsteadyā€ compared to the average diabetic that bounces around like a pinball.

That chart is a little weird, giving the values in different increments than the Dexcom works, you have to multiply the first numbers by 5.

Ignore that the chart is for G5 (which I just noticed. Sorry!), the trend arrows work the same with G6.

4 Likes

Thanks, Robyn. That chart is helpful.

I guess Iā€™m just confused by why my cgm said that I was 122 and increasing, but the next number was 115 and steady. So, it actually decreased from 122.

1 Like

But the arrow represents a trend over more than 5 minutes, per chart Robyn posted.

2 Likes

My biggest learning curve when I first started using a CGM was to wait and see. That arrow will change direction quickly. And me being me who hates how I feel when Iā€™m high would take a correction. Which than the next time I looked, it had leveled out and I would than be fighting the low.