Dexcom G6 and G7 not lasting full 10 days?

​For over a year now I’ve had problems with both G6 and G7 not lasting the full 10 days. Typically I get weird numbers or they just give the 3 hour error and never come back starting around day 7 or 8.

I’m not sure, but I’m beginning to think it may be related to how much liquid intake I get.

Anyone else have similar problems and if so, what did you do?

I have used the G6 for 3 years and experienced the 7 day failures. I only reported about every 3 failures because I only have so much room for D stuff. This allowed a small build up of sensors.

These 7 day failures is a not universal, but is fairly common for some of us. It may be something to do with our unique biochemistry or immune system attacking the sensor.

Those that don’t experience this phenomenon will think it is compression lows or something else. In the image below, it might appear to be compression lows, but this happens while walking around and never for me before day 7.

2 Likes

Mine are due to a combination of bad sensors, especially during the last 15 days or so of transmitter life. A bad sensor which is usually part of a batch of bad sensors shows skips like you show in your graph. Those same sensors, however, toward the end of transmitter life skip, show crazy results all over the place and then a sensor failed replace sensor message appears in day 7, 8 9 or 10.

Right now I am running parallel Day 1 on both a G6 and a G7 and there is between 40-70 points difference between the two and finger stick BG’s fall somewhere between the two, but mostly closer to the G7

2 Likes

When doing a sensor change are y’all cleaning the gold contacts on the transmitter with an alcohol wipe?

Nope, on the G6 I just wipe the gold contacts with my shirt, handkerchief, or whatever else is around when it is time to change the transmitter to a new sensor. I have never used an alcohol wipe for MDI injections, sensors, or anything else diabetes related.