Diabetes and Lactose Intolerant

Hi Guys, just wondering if any of you seem to have Type 1 and Lactose intolerance. I'm just getting use to the idea of being diabetic for life (Type 1 gotta love it) but now I'm finding I'm having issues with dairy which kinda sucks to have any food allergies because I'm a chef in training. Anyway, just curious to know if anyone else is suffering from the two and wondering how you live with it.

Blessings,
BD

I've had a milk allergy all my life but as I grow older the lactose intolerance has become more severe. If I decide I want ice cream or other milk products I make sure I have a couple of days to recover from it. And I space out my encounters with milk so that I don't have milk products every day or even every other day. I know some people get relief with lactaid pills but it doesn't work on me. Good luck and here's hoping you can tolerate a small amount with your meals.

Hi Diabetic Chef. I find that taking a good probiotic capsule daily eliminates my lactose intolerance.

In the interests of full disclosure, I have Celiac Disease which messes with one's gut and causes lactose intolerance. I don't eat gluten, but I do believe it is the probiotic that is helping with the lactose intolerance. I guess I'd also wonder if perhaps you have a gluten problem?

Lactose intolerant does not mean you have to forego all products in one grand swoop. Try one 2 oz yogurt. Or a cooked pudding. 4 oz lactaid milk. One at a time so you know anything is due to that. I have had a stomach ache since I was a child after drinking regular milk. I've developed a list of what I can take a small amount of. Keep a record.

First - Lactose intolerance is NOT an allergy.