Found a solution to the Medtronic button error issue

I am a biomedical engineer and a user of the medtronic paradigm 522 insulin pump. I have recently ran into the dreaded button error that many people have with this specific pump. I have devised a work-around to make the pump usable again (until a replacement is sent.)

If you peel back the adhesive cover for the buttons, you will see the circuit and metallic part for the buttons…

The button error is caused by moisture getting in between the silver metal and gold contact. Use a blow dryer to drive out any moisture and test out the pump by turning it on

Hopes this helps somebody out there…

If you have no insurance and your pump has done this, let me know and I’ll help you out.

Shame on you Medtronic for not being able to repair such a simple problem…

Hi -
My medtronic pump had a ‘button error’ about a week ago. It is not under warranty but they sent me a COT pump while I figure out financing (no insurance). After the first night w/out my pump I put the battery back in and it worked, although the ACT button was a bit slow. I got another button error the next day and transferred to the COT pump. I have read your post and I am going to give it a try. Medtronic asked me to mail back my old pump but why would I send it back just so they can refurbish it and use it, unless they want to give me a discount on a new one.
Have you had any experience with Animas pumps? I thought maybe because they are water proof it might be better?
thanks, Erica.

Hey Erica,