Gainfully employed....for me that means my diabetes falls to the wayside

seriously. it appears i can do only one thing well at a time.

no idea what my new a1c will be. haven't dared to go to the doctors.

but, i printed off lod sheets, came back to tuD and am admitting my d management sucks when i am not focused about 100% on it.

how do other people ...especially women, with hormone fluctuations.....do it all?

because i obviously haven't figured it out.........

Hello boedica! Great handle you have there--she was a valiant warrior-woman! Take her as your inspiration in combatting diabetes.

I was dx'd in October, so I'm still pretty new at this. I've been on insulin since just after Christmas. I test my BG about 8-10 times a day and only take Humalog for meals and corrections, so far.

It helps me to keep my meter in its case on my desk. I also run an alarm program on my computer--since I work on the computer all day--to remind me to test at specific times, usually one and two hours after each meal. Testing only takes a minute and doesn't interrupt other things I'm doing very much. I can take a test while on the telephone, for example, with no problem.

I'm 53 and in menopause so I don't have a lot of advice to give about hormone fluctuations except to say that I still think I'm producing some estrogen or may have some stored in body fat. All I can recommend, though, is that you test, test, test. Over time, you should be able to see some patterns in your BG. A lot of women find that their numbers vary widely depending on whether they're ovulating or having their periods.

I see from your profile that your last A1c was 6.7. That's not terrible! I think that many younger women find it difficult to have A1cs in the 5's. Your profile also says you're on a pump. Can you talk to a CDE or even to Minimed about how to set the pump for different times of the month?