Have desires and ideas for new pump features? Share them!

After speaking with Manny about designing accessories for those on the pump, we thought it would be a great idea to start a group of ‘Think Tankers’ who would share their wants,needs and features they’d like to see in accessories for those who pump*

Great group - totally useful. There are a few things I would fix or like added to a pump (my apologies if some exist already - as I am relatively new to the pump). I would love to have the seal on the resevoirs fixed - I find that it is too easy for air to get into the resevoir - and it’s getting in somehow, because I always make sure to get all air bubbles out. I would also like to see a kind of coil holder or stopper - I’m not sure what they would be called, but something that would allow the tubing to be pulled, if needed, or retract - if needed. Also, I know that this is about the pump, but it would be great if someone would put a light on the end of the glucose monitors (where the strip sits) - it’s awfully hard to test yourself when it’s dark.

What a great idea. I only hope that the pump manufacturers come check this page out.

I would like to see more programability of alarms – the ability to have different alarms for highs, lows and low reservoirs.

Also, I would like Minimed to go back to the old reservoirs, where there was a label on the reservoir that showed the contents. The label was removable. Now that the lines are printed on the reservoir, it is sometimes too easy to miss a couple of small air bubbles around the plunger.

It would also be nice to be able to program the screens on the Minimed 522 – there is often information there that I do not need on the screen (pump serial number, date, auto-off alarm, software version), as long as it is accessible elsewhere on the pump, while there is information that I would like to have more accessible.