Here we go!

Let me preface this by saying; I have a very subversive sense of humor. I hope that this does not offend anyone (not that I care. HA!).

First off, join me on facespacetwitfeed if you want- here’s the url goodness…Redirecting...

Add me, I’ll add you, and we trade diabetic barbs, witty endocrinology related banter, or just pure laughs and tears.

I am a baby type 1. A1c is still battling with my pre-filled pens. Just look at my pic, I am new at this. I thought a tie would be a good substitute for past poor diet choices…Although some stupid autoimmune disorder is to blame for the ‘cash for clunkers pancreas’. Some days I’m cool, some days I hate this, but most of the time I just feel in between the two. I have (maybe the not so unique) disposition of not only a faulty pancreas; I have also been able to accomplish the rare trifecta of bad kidneys and damaged liver as well. The kidneys are probably a result of going into kidney failure twice as a little dude, and the liver is a result of high school + college!? (not really sure) When I was diagnosed, it was actually slightly scary. I won’t go into details, but I was assured that if I had gone another 24 hours to go to see a doctor, I would not be here. Talk about a wake up call! The food in the ICU sucked by the way…no Big Mac, Soft Taco, Thickburger, or sliders. Let’s not even get into the beer selection-very poor in my book! I miss beer. I think I have forgotten how it tastes. Somewhere there is a horse running through a mountain stream, shedding a tear-naying for my lack of consumption. One of my talents, besides destroying organs, is cooking. That particular skill set has eased the transition into a new diet very nicely. I would like to say that it’s “all good” (is that what the kids say now?). I would be remiss though, every day (for me at least) is a battle between what was, what is, and what could be. That my friends is the scary part…it’s not diabetes itself, but actually knowing the outcome if you