Hi New Here!

Just wanted to stop in and say hi. I am new to Tudiabetes. I’ve had pre diabetes for about 18 years. I worked in health care and the first A1c I ever did on myself in my early 40’s was 6.0. I have managed to stay in the low 6’s, below the 6.5 “cut off” through diet. Strangely enough, I noticed that the antidepressants I took helped lower my blood sugars! Also, I have to take plaquenil for RA and that also lowers my BS and can sometimes give me a low.
Recently however, when I stopped my antidepressant and had a bad stomach virus, my A1c went up to 7. Ouch! They tried me on Metformin and Januvia and they both gave me horrible muscle aches and stiffness. This was so disappointing! I don’t know where things will go from here. I am hoping I can at least keep my A1c around 6.5 so I don’t have to go on meds. A lot of meds don’t agree with me.

Welcome! Let us know if there is any way we can help.

Thank you Mila!!!

1 Like

If your A1C doesn’t come back down then I would ask for insulin because of the side effects you got from type 2 meds. BTW insulin is not quite the dangerous substance it used to be in the pre- 2000’s because most of the newer insulins are much easier to use. I use Afrezza and Tresiba and I hardly ever go low and I haven’t gone low enough to need any help since I started using them.

It’s interesting that your A1C jumped after your illness (you’ll find that a lot of type 1’s got diabetes after an illness), to me it almost sounds like you may be developing LADA rather than type 2. Have you had any antibody testing done?

1 Like

Hi Firenze,

Thanks for your reply! Do you have type 1 diabetes? Nice to meet you! I was thinking the same thing about the illness and the blood sugar spikes! I have other auto immune diseases, so I am a little concerned.