How do you pick a "non bleedable" site?

So I am currently using my minimed cgm. Hopefully this question applies to all cgm users. I’m having an issue picking sites that DONT bleed. I understand that bleeding that “stops” is okay. But I’m getting a lot of sites (abdomen, thigh) that just bleed. It appears that the bleeding stops, but then the numbers are way off and when I take the sensor out it’s filled with dried blood.

Advice please!??

I haven’t yet had a site that didn’t bleed a little, and every sensor I remove is covered with blood. I’m having ongoing problems with my numbers being way off, perhaps that’s my problem.

I tried one minimed sensor and had minimal bleeding near my hip. Since starting on the Dexcom in September (I’ve used 4 or 5 sensors now) I’ve never had anything that came close to bleeding. If this is a major issue you might want to look into switching CGM brands.

Hi Sophie, I use the Minimed Guardian cgm. I have been using it for the last 2 months and have had a couple of bleeders. What I do if I have a bleeder is put the corner of a tissue under the plastic part and apply some pressure, not much. I find that if you have a bleeder it might take a while longer to calibrate your cgm but it does settle down and starts giving good readings. I usually can get 6 to 7 day out of a sensor (even the bleeders) if I calibrate before each meal. As far as a non-bleedable site I usually use my belly 2.5 to 3 inches from my navel and up slightly. That is where I get less bleeding.

I use two sites, 2 inches right or left of my naval, just below the rib cage. I don’t get any blood there, the sensors don’t interfere with my clothes, and because I sleep on my side, I don’t bury the sensor at night so it can’t talk to the receiver. My Dexcom sensors are lasting at least 14 days, so i only need the two sites. I calibrate on a level BG and I’m almost always within 10-15 points of my meter. I love having one.