How long have you been pumping?

So, I have been pumping for 16 months now. I have been a diabetic for 22 years, so pumping has been a huge change for me. But a totally wonderful change. How long have you been pumping? How long were you a diabetic before you started pumping?

Let’s see. I have been diabetic since 1996. Dx as T2. Then when we started having children I went on insulin during the first pregnancy and was taking a whopping 1200+ units a day by syringe. Then with my second baby very shortly after the first birth…LOL…They put me on the MM507c, the insurance company rented it on a daily basis and also had me with a company called Matria out of Atlanta that worked with me daily. This was in 1999. The insurance company was spending about $100 a day for my pump so they decided to buy me one and then I got the MM508. I am now on an Animas IR1000 and HATE it! The only reason the doc prescribed this one is because it has a 300u cartridge. I want a Cozmo in the worst way! So I have been pumping for 8 years now. I was diagnosed as a T1 and was told my pancreas had shut down or was barely spitting out any insulin so maybe like a T1.5 (will find out in October for sure). This happened after I had a stroke in April of 2006 and this is what happened.

I have had diabetes for almost 10 yrs and been pumping for since May 2007. I LOVE IT! My BG’s are SO GREAT and my A1C is unbelievable! I use the Minimed Paradigm 722. Although I kind of want to try the new Animas 2020

I have had diabetes for 33 years and on the pump for about 10 years

I have been Type I since May of 1996, so 11 years now. I’ve been pumping since September of 2006. I use an Animas IR1250 & I really like it. I’ve had some minor problems & just recently switched from using Insets to using Comforts which seems to help alot. I went from taking about 150 units a day down to taking 40-80 (depending on the day & my cycle).