How to best raise money for a cure?

Hi guys,

I’ve always wanted to do more to help make a difference for folks with diabetes. I was diagnosed at age 11 and have been dealing with this for 17 years now. When I was diagnosed, my doctor told me that we were within 10 years of finding a cure. It makes me really sad to think that kids being diagnosed today are still hearing the same thing. We’ve obviously come a long way, but I think there is still a long way to go. This year, I’ve decided to walk with JDRF in November. I’ve chosen JDRF very carefully since their organization is focused solely on Type 1 diabetes and research supported by them has proven extremely helpful in the path to a cure.

I’ve always made a point to give what I can as often as possible to support diabetes research, but this is my first time ever doing any sort of serious fundraising, so I’m not extremely confident about this. I’d like to raise $1000. Any pointers would be much appreciated. I’m currently working on a letter-writing campaign, which I’ve heard is a good way to raise money (although gosh, the stamps are expensive!). I’m also planning to email and/or write to my close family and several local businesses that I support.

I’m sure there are others out there who have done this before. I’d love any advice you have to share. What works well? What are the most and least effictive uses of my time and money?

I currently have a fundraising page at http://walk.jdrf.org/walker.cfm?id=87380125

Thanks in advance!
Carolyn

Just knocking on your neighbors doors. I have always been surprised by the amount people will give. If you can have information like what percent goes to research. People like to hear that their money isn’t going to more fundraising. Friends at work are usually good for a dollar or two.