Infusion set question

I disconnected from my pump to get a bath and forgot to put the little cap on my infusion sight, then got dressed and reconnected. should I worry about any bath water getting in the set and causing an infection or am I ok. I have only been pumping for 2 weeks, so I am still new at this

I asked my trainer this, and she said, the only time she worries about it, is if she is going to swim in a lake.

thanks for the quick response, These sets are expensive, I would hate to have to change it to soon

well i use the silhouette infusion set and bout my senior yr of highscoo in 2005 i took a shower right before scool and didnt use the cap, well after lunch that day i went to bolus and it wouldnt let me, soent home and took my site off and found that the cannula was packed full of soap, soo it may depend on the kind of set u use but i would advise to use the cap incase of that situation.

I always put the cap on. It’s important to do because the water that gets in it may temporarily compromise your insulin absorbtion. I’ve had short lived highs after showers attributed to this.

Oh, you learn something new every day. I hardly ever use it; but I guess I ought to.

Thanx!

Lois La Rose
Milwaukee, WI

Same here. I’ve never used that thing. Where am I going to carry it that will keep it sterile, anyways?

I’ve never used the caps in almost 9 years of pumping. Not while swimming, bathing, showering, etc.

In about my 4th year of pumping, I finally realized what that little plastic thing was for!! It took me years to figure out what they put a small plastic piece in with every infusion set. (Obviously, I didn’t care enough to actually research it).

Now I actually do use it (most of the time). For the quickset infusion set, it seems less important than with the Silhouette (that’s just my impression). Also, if I disconnected for initimate moments, the Silhouette would really scratch my husband so I usually put the cap on the Silhouette then.