Infusion Site Bleed Out

Has anyone ever had an infusion site bleed a great deal after removing an infusion set? I took out an infusion set last night, looked down at my white shirt a few minutes later and it literally looked as though I had been stabbed. The site is totally fine today. Very bizarre.

Yes. Sometimes it even spouts like a water fountain. There was a discussion about this in the Pumpers forum a few months ago. Probably means you hit some capillary right on. It happens and it is not a big deal. I still have a couple of spots on a wall when it really spouted (some day I will repaint).

I’ve definitely had those, they usually sting like crazy when I put in the set.

And now a personal plug lol, tell me if you think this would help:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3muE39ETtU

Thanks so much, everyone. I am fairly new to the pump, so it is good to know that this is relatively normal.
Roman - My volume is broken here at work, so I am going to watch your video at home. Thanks for attaching the link.

It used to happen to me, especially when I forget to change my site so it stay for like 4 or 5 days until I changed and BOOM!
However since I moved to use Apidra instead of Humalog I hardly had any, may be cause I change my site on time! lol

hehe you can always paint the walls red Jonathan. Ya I only run into problems if the site gets infected… then there is a uncorking action that happens when I remove the quickset

I’m working on my dotted pattern – in my Pollack phase.

I LOVE the idea of this, what a great idea! I could totally use something like this like right now!

Mine almost always bleeds a little, especially after I swab it with alcohol. Once in a while I get a gusher. When I do, I hold a Kleenex on it with a little pressure. Praise the LORD, I’ve never needed a transfusion. ;^)

Yep. I had a gusher this morning, after removing my infusion set.