Insulet slides on report of increased adverse events, customer complaints

Pod failures + interminable wait times for customer service = decreased stock price

Insulet (NSDQ:PODD) shares are off some 4.5% since the end of last week, after a JMP Securities report of increase adverse event reports and rampant customer complaints for its OmniPod insulin management device.

http://www.massdevice.com/news/insulet-slides-report-increased-adverse-events-customer-complaints

Wow. I've been hoping to start using this pump for a few months now. However, the news that my extended health insurance (in BC-Pacific Blue Cross) won't pay for the pump, only the insulin, coupled with people's recent problems with the new edition has turned me off...tell me it's worth it! Or not?

Hi RJ, my daughter has been on the new pods for over 2 months now and we've had 6 or 7 pods fail, but I wouldn't change to a tubed pump. And the wait times for customer service seem to have decreased drastically. While I also experienced long wait times on a few occasions, the CSR was always polite and helpful. I've never actually received bad SERVICE.

I think Insulet did a poor job with the rollout of the new pods, but I also think (hope) they will work out the kinks. In fact, when you report a failed pod, Insulet sends you a free replacement along with a box to return the failed pod, so I'm assuming the engineers inspect the failed pods to learn what happened so they can fix the issues they are having.

Have you done the math on the cost of the various pumps? We have insurance, but it seems like Omnipod might be cheaper out of pocket than the others, esp when you factor in the cost of infusion sets required by tubed pumps.

Bottom line, we wouldn't switch to another pump and I'm confident that Insulet will figure out the issues.