Insulin Pumps- How long have you worn one? Malfunction risk?

I have been on the medtronic pump for over a year now and love it. However, in the back of my mind I always worry about pump malfunction- delivering too much insulin specifically. Is this a legitamate fear or am I overthinking it? How long have you worn a pump? Have you ever had your pump malfunction? Just curious...

Good morning, Lil Mama. I have been pumping since 2007: MiniMed 522 and now 523 (with Dr. Koch). I have had a couple of motor alarms and numerous non-delivery alarms, but my two pumps have never delivered too much insulin. I guess with any high-tech device there is always a possiblity of failure but I would expect there are multiple safeguards designed into the pump to minimize the risk of such a possibility. Not to worry ....

So the pump does alert you when its not delivering?

Oh, yes! I have mine set to vibrate (I don't hear the tones). It begins with a series of 5 or 6 strong vibrations and escalates from there until I acknowledge it.

I've had my MM522 for over 5 years, and had one malfunction. I was caught outside in a rainstorm, and it got wet. I had a small crack in my ACT button, and it quit working. Fortunately, it was still under warranty (it no longer is), and MM sent me a new pump next day.

I've never heard of anyone using a MM pump getting too much insulin...and I see literally thousands of posts from MM users (I'm a moderator on another forum where we just talk about pumps).

Tom

I've had my Minimed for over a year and the only "failure" I have got was an unable to deliver failure and that was ONLY when I first started pumping and wasn't inserting my infusion set in correctly...talked with Minimed and they gave me some suggestion and no problem since then.

P.S. The pump definately alarms with failure to deliver.