Is this a normal way to get a dexcom?

On 9/12/2018 I saw my endocrinologist and part of that appointment we discussed me getting a Dexcom CGM. They said they would check with my insurance to see what cost if any I would need to pay and get back to me.

Today 9/15/2018 (3 days later) a Dexcom G6 was delivered by UPS to my door. It says its a prescription with $0 co-pay prescribed by my doctor. It also says I have 30 days to return it. The company that sent it is “Health Link US” (never heard of them).

This situation is very odd to me. Is this a common way to receive a Dexcom? I was expecting someone to call or email me details on cost and how to get refills and for me to agree to it all before anything else happens. Normally I get my prescriptions filled from Walgreens. Health Link US appears to be a third party that fills prescriptions but I have no experience with this.

I logged into Blue Cross Blue Shield website and don’t see any prescription related to this. That makes me wonder if the cost will be 0 if my insurance hasn’t registered this yet? I’m worried there will be a cost and once I open the Dexcom I’m on the hook for the unknown cost.

If anyone has experience with something like this please let me know if this is normal. For now I’m not planning to open the Dexcom until I can at least call my doctor Monday to find out what is going on.

Thank you,
Chris

Dexcom is usually covered as DME, durable medical equipment, and is usually processed differently than insulin, pens, drugs, etc. Walgreen would not be able to supply dexcom sensors.
(Correction, I learned today that in some cases Walgreen can supply sensors).
Each insurance company decides which DME supplier they will work with. You may be able to search BCBS site for DME. Or wait until Monday to ask your employer for help if it is an employer plan.

For my sensors, I check to see that an EOB in completed status, and then I would know it is covered, and can verify what my portion is.